Connect with us

Brotherly Game Archive

Concacaf Champions League semifinal dates announced

Union will played at Club America on August 12 and host the second leg on September 15



The CONCACAF Champions League semifinal dates were announced on Thursday, with the Philadelphia Union set to host Liga MX powerhouse Club America on Wednesday, September 15 at 9 p.m. for the second leg.

Jim Curtin’s team will head down to Mexico City for the first match on Thursday, August 12, for a 10 p.m. kickoff at the Estadio Azteca.

The Union have been given the rights to host the second leg based on their performance in the two previous rounds. 

They have taken 10 points from the first four games — two wins against Saprissa in the first round before beating Atlanta United 3-0 in the first leg and drawing back at Subaru Park to clinch a semifinal spot. Meanwhile, Club America only took seven points from Olimpia and the Portland Timbers, forcing the Mexican club to head north for the decisive match in September.

The two Champions League fixtures come at interesting times for the Union. They will play away to the New England Revolution on Sunday, August 8 before traveling to Mexico City for the midweek encounter. After the first leg, the Union will be given a much-needed rest the following weekend, instead resuming MLS play on Wednesday, August 18 at home to NYCFC.

However, the second leg against Club America comes during a long home stint. 

The Union won’t have played any MLS games for nearly two weeks before hosting “Las Aguilas,” the last being a September 3 encounter with the Revolution at Subaru Park. 

Philadelphia stays home for four straight matches, with contests against Orlando City SC (September 19) and Atlanta United (September 25) completing the other side of the CONCACAF Champions League sandwich.

Should Philadelphia defeat Club America on aggregate, they would become just the fifth MLS team in the modern era of the Concacaf Champions League to reach the final, where they would face the winner of Cruz Azul and Monterrey. No MLS team has won the tournament since its inception in 2008.

Copyright © 2024 Philadelphia Soccer Now and Brotherly Game

Be the First to Know When Philadelphia Soccer News Happens!

Sign-up now to get all of our stories sent directly to your inbox, as soon as they're published.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.